The Wandering Metaphor
Wandering Metaphors
A Straw Man's Song
2
0:00
-2:41

A Straw Man's Song

"A Straw Man's Song" is a haunting and evocative poem that explores themes of abandonment, manipulation, and the quest for self-identity.
2
A scarecrow holding onto a two-sided rope that's hanging from the branch of a tree in a gloomy autumn setting.

A Straw Man’s Song

By Ken LeMarchand

“I shall ask for brains instead of a heart; for a fool would not know what to do with a heart if he had one.”—L. Frank Baum

I.

she left me waiting by the hanging tree

with calloused hands & a six foot rope

made me weave together every strand

till my earthy palms exhumed blood

pain is all she let me know about her

pain, burning straw & red dirt

she made a golem of my ego

churned my straw skin into fool’s gold

she’s Rumpelstiltskin’s successor

grinning in sin, like father like daughter

II.

must she abandon me here by this stump

limbs dangling with the westerly wind

a voodoo scarecrow for her ragtime play

a pound of flesh to keep ravenous crows at bay

stabbed and branded with her devil’s fork

torn together and sown apart, again & again

her distancing voice a cackle like acid rain

the only time she revealed her affection for me

when winter comes, as it has many times before

will I again become prey, a blackbird’s porch

III.

will I gather what’s left of my charred bones

bury my hollow clothes beneath a wayward church

move to the middle of nowhere, profaned

with a cleft chin soaked in a prayerful curse

a wicker fruit plucked from the Tree of Ire

unkempt, unkind, unhurt, no desire

will I rise like a signal fire at night

a burning man free of her hideous sight

or will I remain forever swung

wrapped ‘round the noose of her leathery tongue

Discussion about this podcast

The Wandering Metaphor
Wandering Metaphors
Dive into the world of poetry on the Wandering Metaphors podcast where we chat with poets about their new releases and explore the creative process behind their work.